WCPRR Oficial Journal of WACP.

WCPRR Oficial Journal.

of World Association of Cultural Psychiatry.



& improve

prevention, diagnosis and treatment
of mental illness globally


The World Cultural Psychiatric Research Review is an international peer-reviewed psychiatric journal, covering all branches of psychiatry with a particular emphasis on the sociocultural context. It is the official journal of the World Association of Cultural Psychiatry and the journal was founded by Prof. Goffredo Bartocci in 2005.

The journal’s concern is to understand and improve the prevention, diagnosis and treatment of mental illness globally. In addition to original research papers the journal accepts review papers, commentaries, short reports, and book reviews.

Mario Braakman,

WCPRR Editorial Board

Mario Braakman – Pro Persona Mental Health & Radboud University, Nijmegen, the Netherlands

Associate Editors
Micol Ascoli, MBBS (Hons) (It),
SARCPsych – East London NHS Foundation Trust
Kamaldeep Bhui, MD, FRCPsych – Queen Mary University of London
Simon Dein, MRCPsych, PhD – University College London
Geert Smit – Centrum 45, Diemen, the Netherlands

Editorial assistant
Rujuta Mahajan

International Editorial Board

North America
Renato D. Alarcon, MD, MPH – Mayo Clinic College of Medicine (USA)
James K. Boehnlein, MD, MSc – Oregon Health and Science University (USA)
Suk Choo Chang, MD – Seattle (USA & Korea)
Armando Favazza, MD, MPH – University of Missouri-Columbia (USA)
Ezra Griffith, MD – Yale University (USA)
Robert Kohn , MD – Brown University (USA)
Juan Mezzich, MD – Mount Sinai School of Medicine (USA)
Sergio J. Villaseñor Bayardo, MD, PhD – University of Guadalajara (Mexico)
Joseph Westermeyer, MD, PhD – University of Minnesota (USA)
Ron Wintrob, MD – Brown University (USA)

Central and South America
Mario G. Hollweg, MD – Universidad Privada de Santa Cruz de la Sierra (Bolivia)
Mario Incayawar, MD, MSc – Runajambi Institute for the Study of Quichua Culture and Health (Ecuador)
Roger Montenegro, MD – Institute of Postgraduate & CME in Psychiatry of APSA (Argentina)

Riyadh Al Baldawi, MD, PhD – Orient Health Centre (Sweden & Iraq)
Rachid Bennegadi, MD – Centre Françoise Minkowska (France)
Filippo Cieri, PhD – Università G. D’Annunzio Chieti (Italy)
Wolfgang Jilek MD, MSc – University of British Columbia (Canada)
Marianne Kastrup, MD, PhD – Rigshospitalet, Copenhagen (Denmark)
Casear P. Korolenko, MD, PhD – Novosibirsk Medical Academy (Russia)
Roland Littlewood, DPhil, DSc – University College London (UK)
Mario Maj, MD – Seconda Università di Napoli (Italy)
Joan Obiols, MD – Hospital de Meritxell (Andorra)
Richard Rechtman, MD – Université de Paris 5 (France)
Hans Rohlof, MD – University of Utrecht (The Netherlands)
Giangiacomo Rovera, MD – Università di Torino (Italy)
Ekkehard Schröder, MD – Arbeitsgemeinschaft Ethnomedizin (Germany)
Thomas Stompe, MD – Psychiatric University Clinic (Austria)
Kalpana Thomas, MRCPsych, Msc – South Essex NHS Trust (UK)
Mitchell G. Weiss, MD, PhD – Swiss Tropical Institute (Switzerland)

Asia & Middle East
Sing Lee, MB, BS – Chinese University of Hong Kong (Hong Kong)
Kwangiel Kim, MD, PhD – Hanyang University (Korea)
Fumitaka Noda, MD, PhD – Taisho University (Japan & Canada)
Xudong Zhao, MD – Tongji University (China)

South Asia
Ajita Chakraborty, FRCPE, FRCPsych – Calcutta University (India)
Arabinda. N. Chowdhury, MD, MRCPsych – Institute of Postgraduate Medical Education & Research (India)
Afzal Javed, MBBS, FRCPsych – University of Warwick (UK & Pakistan)
M. Fakhr El-Islam, FRCP, FRCPsych – Behman Hospital (Egypt)

Dan L. Mkize, MMed (Psych) – University of KwaZulu-Natal (South Africa)
Seggane Musisi, MB, ChB – Makerere University Medical School (Uganda)
Samuel O. Okpaku, MD, PhD – Meharry Medical College (USA & Nigeria)

Australia – New Zealand
Andrew Hornblow, PhD – University of Canterbury (New Zealand)
Eng-Seong Tan, MD – University of Melbourne (Australia)